Maps and Graphs of European Integration

European Regions

When talking about European regions, we can distinguish between two usages of this concept. First, Europe is often divided into regions based on geographical, cultural or historical criteria. Many European structures currently exist, some are cultural, economic, or political – examples include the Council of Europe, the European Broadcasting Union, the Eurovision Song Contest and the European… Show more

Grades of membership

Most maps of the European Union only distinguish between member and nonmember states – a blue mass in the heart of the continent surrounded by white space and a few white spots like the micro-states, Switzerland, and the Kaliningrad area in between. But Europe is much more colorful. Differentiated membership in the EU and its policy regimes comes in a variety of grades – both for formal members… Show more

Different layers of integration in Europe

European Union. Countries that are a part of the political and economic bloc (28 members as of 2017): Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, and Sweden. Eurozone countries. Countries that… Show more