Show Full Map/High Resolution PDF
Source: Assembly of European Regions (AER)

European Regions

When talking about European regions, we can distinguish between two usages of this concept.

First, Europe is often divided into regions based on geographical, cultural or historical criteria. Many European structures currently exist, some are cultural, economic, or political – examples include the Council of Europe, the European Broadcasting Union, the Eurovision Song Contest and the European Olympic Committees with the European Games. Also some non-European countries, which border mainland Europe, are often included as belonging to a “wider Europe” or the “European family” including, Israel, Turkey, Georgia, Russia, Armenia, Azerbaijan or Kazakhstan.

However, according to the Assembly of European regions (AER) statutes, in principle, the term “region” can refer to a territorial authority existing at the level immediately below that of the central government, with its own political representation in the form of an elected regional assembly. The map above includes all the regions, which have this characteristic.